Empowering Practice:  Integrating Psychodrama, Sociodrama and Other ModalitiesEmpowering Practice: Integrating Psychodrama, Sociodrama and Other Modalities

London from August 28th to September 1st 2014
Pre- conference August 27-August 28

The theme of this major international conference is a focus on how various schools of therapy and group processes use ‘action’ as well as words in their clinical practice. This event is designed not only for psychodramatists  and other professionals who use ‘action’ in their clinical work but those who work in organisations and in non-clinical settings. Delegates, workshops leaders and speakers will include those practicing family, mentalisation based therapy (MBT), drama and occupational therapy as well as those working in cross-cultural settings and in the field of organisational development.

There will be lectures, plenaries and workshops from experts in these different areas which will explore how these theories, therapies and psychological models can enrich psychodrama and vice versa.

Psychodrama belongs to the humanistic group of psychotherapies and the cornerstone its therapeutic process is spontaneity and creativity. To express our creative self and to use our inner truths are crucial parts of healthy individuals. It is an action based therapy utilising the philosophy and practice of creator, J. L. Moreno whose dictum was: ‘don’t tell us, show us.’

The conference will honour the group process and at the same time provide an exciting and intellectually rewarding experience, in an inclusive atmosphere embracing differences and similarities. 

Jessica Kingsley will publish, to coincide with the conference, the new edited book, Empowering Practice: Integrating psychodrama and other therapies


Download:  Programme Outline

Royal Holloway – University of London

Pre-Conference August 27th and 28th to September 1st 2014
Main Conference August 28th to September 1st 2014

Conference Committee: 
Paul Holmes
Kate Kirk
Anna Napier
Marcia Karp
Valerie Monti Holland
Teresa Brown
Mark Farrall

Kate Bradshaw Tauvon
Maurizio Gasseau
Yaacov Naor